Andraud, Albert Jean 17.feb.1884-15.apr.1975 France, Bordeaux - Ohio, Cincinnati
hornist, oboist, arranger, publisher, studied at the Conservatoire de Paris, 1900 premier prix, 17.may.1918 as oboist of the Republican Guarde Band of Paris he played at Chautauqua New York and did not return to France, 1922-1923 residing at 6917 Detroit Avenue and 1924-1929 at 6901 Clinton Avenue in Cleveland Ohio, 1926-1929 hornist/oboist of the Cleveland Symphony Orchestra, 1927 in Cleveland naturalized American, 1930-1942 hornist of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, 1935-1958 residing at 2871 Erie Avenue in Cincinnati, 1936-1945 teacher oboe at Cincinnati Conservatory of Music and Cincinnati College of Music, 1935-1958 music publisher in Cincinnati, 1958 arranger/editor for Southern Music San Antonio Texas, 1961-1970 teacher at the North Texas State University in Denton where he founded the Andraud Quintet in 1961, he died at Good Samaritan Hospital Cincinnati and was buried at Rose Hill Cemetery Spartansburg ; 30.mar.1922 in Cleveland he married high school teacher Helen Elizabeth Hilliard (Pennsylvania, Spartansburg 28.may.1892-22.jun.1971 Cincinnati)

Title Parts

[] Cassazione (Cassation) in E flat. Quartet for oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn
published 1936 by Andraud as an original work of Mozart, discovered in 1910
? composed by Andraud himself or Johann Georg Lickl
by Kochel listed as spurious in Anhang as KvAnh CA11
Avena Trio. Koch Discover International 920195/6
Calamus Ensemble. Dabringhaus 6030859

[] Practical and progressive oboe method, reed making, melodious and technical studies
text by Helen H. Andraud
pub A. J. Andraud, Cincinnati 1948

2005-05-19 17:20:12